Statement on Race and Diversity

MIT AeroAstro Community Members: Access more information about the Diversity, Inclusion, and Innovation Committee. (Note: MIT Touchstone sign-in required.) 

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics faculty, students, and staff affirm a commitment to protect and nurture, first and foremost, the mental and physical well-being of each member of our community. A core value of our department is a commitment to diversity, which connotes an awareness and acceptance of the value and strength derived from engaging the richness of multiple cultures including race, disabilities, gender, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, and skin color, among other attributes. The full potential and impact of our scholarship, teaching and learning, knowledge creation, innovation, and service can only be realized in an environment where people are supported and valued for their humanity, without prejudice, and where inclusion, collaboration, and sharing are core principles.

Diversity and Inclusion

The Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics is committed to advancing the inclusion of underrepresented minorities and women in our community of faculty, students, and staff. We are cognizant of the Institute’s goals of the 2004 faculty resolution to increase the number of underrepresented minority and women graduate students and the 2010 Report of the Initiative on Faculty Race and Diversity. We affirm our commitment to these goals and recommendations.

Pursuant to our commitment and goals, the department will appoint and support the AeroAstro Faculty, Student, and Staff Standing Committee on Race and Diversity, reporting to the department head, to develop action plans to protect and nurture the mental and physical well-being of each member of our community, to increase the inclusion of underrepresented minorities and women, and to address other such opportunities as appropriate.

View the MIT Diversity Dashboard here.

AeroAstro Diversity, Inclusion, and Innovation Committee (2020-2021)

Name Role
Andrea Badillo Undergraduate Student
Hamsa Balakrishnan Associate Department Head and Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Maria Barbosa  Undergraduate Student
Morgan Grace Blevins Graduate Student
Becca Browder Graduate Student
Amelia Rose Bruno Graduate Student
Katie Carroll Graduate Student
Sara Cody Communications Officer
Annick Dewald Graduate Student 
Paula do Vale Pereira Graduate Student
Sebastian Eastham Research Scientist
Nadia Barbara Figueroa Postdoc 
Pam Fradkin Administrative Assistant
Elissa Gibson Undergraduate Student
Maha Haji Research Staff
Wes Harris C.S. Draper Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Daniel Hastings Department Head and Cecil and Ida Green Education Professor
Andrea Henshall Graduate Student 
Summer Hoss Undergraduate Student
Max Li Graduate Student
Paulo Lozano M. Alemán-Velasco Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Beth Marois   Graduate Program Administrator
Fran Marrone Support Staff
Rebecca Masterson   Principle Research Scientist
Brían O’Conaill Administrative Officer
Hannah Ovaska Human Resources Administrator
Gabriel Owens-Flores Undergraduate Student
Denise Phillips Diversity Officer
Victoria Preston Graduate Student
Raina K. Puels Administrative Assistant  
Nicholas Roy Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Justine Schultz Graduate Student
Afreen Siddiqi Postdoc
Paul Stegall Postdoc
Catherine Washburn Undergraduate Student
Moe Z. Win Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics