MIT Aeronautics Department staff and faculty.

Frequent Contacts:

Department Head: Daniel E. Hastings
Associate Department Head: Hamsa Balakrishnan
Administrative Officer: Brían O'Conaill
Graduate Program Administrator: Beth Marois
Academic Programs Administrator: Marie Stuppard
Infrastructure Manager: Anthony Zolnik
Communications Officer: Sara Cody
Senior Leadership Giving Officer: Kate Reynolds
Diversity Officer: Denise Phillips
Human Resources Administrator: Hannah Ovaska


Associate Department Head
William E. Leonhard (1940) Professor of Aeronautics & Astronautics
hamsa [at]
Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Director, Laboratory for Aviation and the Environment
Director, Electric Aircraft Initiative
Head, Air Sector, AeroAstro Department
sbarrett [at]
Research Specialist
pbauer [at]
Professor of Planetary Sciences
Margaret MacVicar Faculty Fellow
Joint appointment: Aeronautics and Astronautics; Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
rpb [at]
Infrastructure Assistant
kbruce [at]
Associate Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Co-Director, Small Satellite Center
Bisplinghoff Faculty Fellow
kcahoy [at]
Leonardo Career Development Assistant Professor
lcarlone [at]
Communications Officer
scody [at]
Boeing Assistant Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
zcordero [at]